The Back Story Part 1

July 13, 2006

My relationship with my body hasn’t been a good one. The days of my not having some sort of belly or weight problem happened way back in first grade. Somehow back then, I was a normal kid without any body issues but then, the blizzard of ’78 happened and I couldn’t go outside other than for school and so all I did was sit in the front of the TV, play my Atari and eat, or at least that’s the story my mom always tells. I can’t say for sure whether that started me down the path to being overweight but it’s a good story so I’ll use it.

The majority of the story can be skipped over with this Cliff Notes version: After high school, I didn’t do much exercise nor watch what I ate so my waistline expanded. Now, we’ll talk about the current situation. In the early part of May, I came down with something and it kicked my ass. I had an infection in my throat, a fever going all the way up to 103 and the combination of being overheated and having the chills. I went to the doctor for the first time in over 10 years, got some antibiotics and eventually got better. The only good thing to come out of it was that I made another appointment to have a physical.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous going into it. Nervousness quickly moved to other emotions as I had to step on the scale. When you are overweight, I think your mind keeps you thinking you aren’t as bad as you more than likely are. That was definitely my problem as I waited for the readout to show what I weighed. I was not prepared to see 304 pounds. Breaking the 300-pound barrier caused all of the warnings I’ve heard and read as well as the looks I would get from my parents to flood back into my head and overwhelm me. I was in a funk the rest of the day. The physical itself didn’t go too badly considering my weight. That was really the only health issue I had, everything else was doing fine.

Of course, I did what anyone would normally do after that appointment, I went and ordered a Double-Double from In-n-Out and wallowed in self-pity. But you can only do that for so long and eventually I came to a fork in the road. One path lead to continued weight gain and possibly an early death while the other would hopefully bring me back to clothes fitting and better health. I didn’t know which one I would choose for the long-term but the short-term, I wanted to try and get healthy.

My next post will talk about how I started and where I currently am.

Leave a Reply

